MoJo

Vox-popping goodness

Vox pops are awesome.

There I said it. I admit that talking to strangers is an adrenaline rushing experience and take pride in my experiences so far.

However, it’s not always as amazing as the screen let’s on.

For one, people can be rude as fuck. I don’t care that people aren’t interested. I totally understand we all have our lives, missions, daily routines and places to be. Especially when most people work that we approach.

BUT, when you walk up to someone and they ultimately treat you like the scum on the bottom of their shoe (it’s either shit or gum, but most likely shit) that’s when it’s less about a rush of time and more about being a complete douchebag.

My example is as follows…

I approached this sweet looking couple carrying coffee cups, introducing myself and the idea of a chat on camera.

“What are you going to ask?” said one guy who seemed pretty quick to ask.

“Well it’s good to keep it a bit fresh and spontaneous. I assure you it isn’t anything too insulting or deep.” I reassured the man. To which he instantly responded.

“How can I answer your questions when I can’t even trust what they’re going to be?” he bit back.

Something you should know about me is that I am such an easy going person and I’ve developed the knack for owning my rejections or at least accepting that not everyone wants to talk.

But dude, if you don’t want to talk just say no. I’d rather happily accept 100 rejections than to receive ass wipes that can’t handle a bit of fun and give me such sass.

Maybe he was hiding something. Maybe he was camera shy. Maybe he was an undercover cop and was sceptical of anyone in his path. But maybe he (and SOCIETY) could be a little more nicer to people you don’t know cause it can have a domino effect.

The opposite example?

One day I headed to the city, I wasn’t exactly in the best of moods as I was running late and needed to be somewhere.

Adding salt to the wound, I was hangry. This never helps anyone especially when late for an appointment.

So I step on this bus and my mind sighs in relief due to the bus with few passengers. I swipe my Opal card and then look at the driver. Friendly face, smiling whilst I clearly was the opposite.

“Good morning, how are you today?” the driver said as I looked into his very kind eyes. No joke I wanted to bawl my eyes out. I waited a second, startled by his question and replied good.

I was feeling good. In fact, I was feeling fan-fucking-tastic because this man. This stranger put a smile on my face and did for the rest of the day.

I believe this is called the collective consciousness where such an act has a profound affect on you.

My point is, don’t be an arsehole to the person handing you a brochure, or the person asking for a quick chat, don’t be mean to the cleaner at your work. Speak to them. Treat them like a human being. I assure you they will appreciate it.

Needless to say, I was really quite nice to the guy who questioned me and there it was a lesson for me to.

Just be as nice as pie to the ass wipes. Because believe it or not, they could be having a bad day too.

Leave a Reply

